Sunday, July 4, 2010

Hello Kitty Mania

OK, I have a bone to pick with Japan. What is with Hello Kitty? It is everywhere!!! and they make the most expensive merchandise, and what is worse, people actually buy it!! I mean look at this stuff:






i mean really...who would buy the wedding stuff??/ ridiculous.

okay, now that i'm done being surprised and disgusted I will talk about camp.

This last week was Toy Story Week:




poor woody is the only thing that didn't turn out well: CREEPY I would say







So anyways, this last week went really well. only 20 kids in all, and it was all pretty smooth sailing. It was actually extremely easy in a way compared to this week (38 kids) but I like it that way anyway.

So our fieldtrip last Wednesday was AWESOME! it was this park that had these giant white blobs on them that were spring loaded. look at this:






Camp is still fun. Of course I am tired some days, and sometimes it just seems like i'm not going to make it, but that's okay. It is all about powering through and doing the best you can. I know that I'm not the "nice counselor" because I don't baby the kids. I firmly believe that kids are pretty capable of doing whatever they want so I don't help them with everything. i give them their independence as long as they are safe and follow expectations. I run around and play with them just as hard as they do. Its almost like my chance to go to camp too, and be a kid again, and sing the songs and feel the joy and the love. I wish that I could touch every child, and I wish that they could all feel at home inside of Daly hall, but I will settle for a few. i will settle for making at least one child's day. I will settle for trying my best to make the biggest difference that I can.

Well that is enough about camp. This weekend, we went to Harajuku, which is the shopping district. It had all these cool stores with all of these cool things. I found heels, and somethign for one of my brothers. It was super awesome. One of the coolest parts of Harajuku is the phenomenon known as the Harajuku girls. These girls (or men sometimes) dress up in pink outfits and walk along the streets and even let you take pictures of them. This is a bad pic, but it's all I have...



Saturday night the girls and Seth and I went to Roppongi and went ot club and met up with some Marines from Okonawa. They were fun to dance with. Found myself a pretty tall marine man named Tyler who I danced with all night. Definitely helping get rid of the some of the stress of work. I forgot how much I just love to dance and laugh and have fun, even with people I don't know.

Fact #4 about Japan: Produce is hecka expensive...it is so not ok with me

Love to you all. I miss everyone from home, but at the same time I never really want to leave here. I feel like there is so much yet to see.

No comments:

Post a Comment