Saturday, June 26, 2010

Food of Thought: What Will I Eat Tomorrow?

I have been thinking but its kind of crazy how much I DON'T miss being at home. I feel like this is the place that I need to be, and for the first time in a long time I feel like I am excelling, and not only that, I am appreciated here. I feel needed, and at the same time, I get to go on my own adventures and see the world. I have been truly blessed with this opportunity.

I let this last year get to me a lot more than it should have in a lot of different ways, and Japan is kind of a blessing because camp is showing me all the things that I am really good at. I am having fun again, and not feeling tied down or inferior. We had our Program Coordinator come visit the other day and she said I was doing a good job and that meant so much to me, just because it lets me know that I am actually doing what I should be doing.

I know that I have left a lot of things behind in monmouth, and in a way, my life there has been put on hold, but I am gaining some perspective on what I have left. Things that seemed important are not so important anymore, and events that I thought were super traumatic don't seem that way anymore. In short, I am learning to look back, reflect and realize that not everything is as it seems up close. I wish I had discovered camp adventure a long time ago, and I wish this wasn't the only year that I could do it, but there are other things out there for me. I know what I want now. I want to teach English in a different country. I want to go see places and meet people that I have never experienced before. I want to know what this world is made of, and what the people in it are like. Speaking the language is just half the battle, the other half is just having the courage to laugh at yourself and know that everything is going to turn out as it should. life isn't worth stressing over. Instead of wishing that it went a different way, I would rather take what comes and make good of it. Will I always get my way...absolutely not: experience has taught me that. But also, not getting my way has taught me so much about life.

I've realized that another big passion in my life is the Dougy Center. I was talking about that on the train today with Lindsey and Brittany and it just lit up my day remembering all the good times that I had there and all the magic I witnessed and was a part of. I want to start more groups like that in places in the world where that support might not exist. I want to bring that support and togetherness to places that desperately need it.

I have so much that I want to do, and coming to Japan is helping me realize what I want to do. Of course I miss my family and my friends and everything, but this is my time, and this is my life, and I want to do it all, have it all, be it all, and give it all to others.

Kamakura=Big Buddha

Today a bunch of people from all of the Japan Camp A sites met at Kamakura and the big Buddha.


So, at 8:15AM we all trekked off to the trains, and didn't get to Kamakura until 10:30. We walked around a little bit and finally we went to see this giant Buddha. This Buddha is 13.35 meters tall and weighs about 93 tons. It was build iin 1252 by Ono Goroemaon and Tanji Hisatomo. The statue is made of Bronze. You can also go inside of the statue.

Before you enter, you must wash your hands and cleanse yourself before approaching the temple and buddha.


So that was an hour of hte day. The rest of the time we just walked around, but we definitely had some adventures...

like the bathroom...

Japan weird fact #3: most public restrooms don't have toilet paper.

Nothing like the 100 yen store...

you would be amazed at the treasures you can find in the 100 yen store.

But the best part of the whole day was getting back home. See, we followed other people to Kamakura, but we went back without those people...So, we get on the fist train..and it was PACKED to the rim, and we pushed and shoved our way through and ended up literally on top of each other. let's just put it this way. My girls and I, we are no longer just acquaintences, we are now all very good friends on many levels.




oh... and we may have gotten lost on the trains getting back...but don't worry...we made it. thank god for maps!!!

Friday, June 25, 2010

First Week of Camp

Well, I survived. This week has been a BLAST. The kids were so cute. there are 30 of them, and unfortunately, none of you will see them until I get back since I can't put them on here. But in short, we had girl drama, an ADD child, some great guys, the cutest little five year old girl on the face of the planet, some really adorable Japanese kids and all in all a great week. First I want to introduce to the space that we work in. This week was ocean week, so here is a little tour of Daly hall.


















Oh, by the way, I must have you know that I am one of hte most artistic people in day camp when it comes to poster making. Now all of my good friends will know that I have absolutely no artistic skill whatsoever, and yet, I am totally creative and useful in this capacity. I have drawn so many posters and I really am truly proud of myself. Thanks for letting me brag for just one minute.

So anyways, thats where I work. We did a bunch of different activities this week. We played a lot of games and sang a lot of songs. boy do i love camp songs, i could just do them alllll day. that's my favorite part of the day. The people I work with are super cool. We all have different styles and different ideas and so it all works out in the end. The thing I love best about our day camp staff is that none of us are too controlling and that we all pretty much just go with the flow. a lot of camp is being able to just take life as it comes and change games when the kids get bored and always always have a back-up plan.

We go swimming for an hour everyday which is fun becasue i get to just float around and play with the kids and get a tan (a giant plus). The campers always get so excited when they find out that they are going in the water. Not one of them has ever complained about going to the pool.

It is really amazing the reputation that Camp Adventure has here. Usually, to get in the gate of the compound we work on, you need an ID out. However, when the guards see us coming they open up the gate with big smiles on their faces and shoo us onto the compound. Everyone is always so nice to us, and even people in our hotel tell us about how great they think Camp Adventure is. I guess I never realized how truly important it is that we keep that good name and make sure that we don't make a fool of ourselves while we are here. I have to say that doing Camp Adventure is probably one of the smartest things that I have ever done. What an opportunity to be able to see the world but also work with kids who don't lead the lives of "normal" kids. It is an interesting lifestyle but it totally works for all of these families.

One of the big high lights of this week was Wednesday when we went on our first fieldtrip to Disney Sea, which is next to the disneyland here. It has a lot of little mermaid stuff and the kids got a picture with Captain Jack Sparrow. It was super cool, but it would have been cooler if it was POURING outside. Literally pouring. We were all so wet by the end. One kid said that she was "mushy" and that pretty much describes how I felt after the whole thing. It was fun, but kind of stressful because when you are responsible for 15 other children who aren't yours, there is that extra weight of "I need to keep these kids safe AND get them home in one piece." But apart from feeling like a wet dog and anxious about kids it was really fun day.

Today we had a BBQ and the kids loved it. It was really hard at the end of te day to say good-bye to them knowing that some of them weren't going to come back. We actually have quite a few who are moving to different places in the next week. its amazing the connection I have to some of them even after five days. I wish that I could just bring some of them home with me. I have received so much artwork in the past week and I have had them sign it all and put the date on it.

My favorite part of the day is during closing when the kids get to share their favorite part of the day and then get to pick a song to sing at closing. When I first learned "World's greatest" and "Lean on me" I never thought I would survive all the sign langague that went along with them, but now I am a seasoned pro. I just love looking up an seeing all the kids staring at me signing and blinding copying whatever I am doing.


On a side note, I am super excited that Ashlee's wedding is now this september instead of next september. I know that her and Chad are going to be really happy together and I can't wait. At first I was all thrown off, but now I am beginning to juggle work and it is really sinking in and I am super duper excited about it. love you all!!!

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Adventures Galore

Hello all!
I begin this post with an ode to Sushi. Man is it good. The girls and I went out the other night and filled ourselves up with sushi. some had never tried it before but I was very proud of Anita and Shanada for giving it a good try.

now doesn't that look good? anyways, just thought i would share that sushi is better in Japan than in the U.S.
I have been having a good time going out with all the people that I work with. They are all nice, funny and adventurous people who have been a joy in this past week.

yesterday, Brittany, Lindsay, Megan and I decided to go on an adventure around Tokyo. We walked out of the hotel and went left. We have never gone left after leaving the hotel, only right, so already, we are way out of our comfort bubble of tokyo. Soon, we found a cemetery in the middle of the city. It is so strange here how you can be walkng along on a city block and all of a sudden find a park or a cemetery that somehow does not seem to fit in with its surroundings. Though most of you don't know this, I love cemeteries, and even more, I love cemeteries and churches from different cultures and countries. all in all...completely in heaven.

this is the big building in the middle of the cemetery


some of them had statues


The cups are for flowers and the holes are for incense


There were women cleaning some of the grave stones and sweeping off the pathways. Cremation is usually what is customary in Tokyo and so these gravestones are just remembrances and not so much burial stones.



and then you can climb up this hill and see the whole cemetery, and the lovely ladies i came with...


so anyways, I have a billion pictures of the cemetery, but I doubt any of you are as interested as I am so I will stop showing pictures and move on to the rest of our day. We walked through this little neighborhood suburb type place, and then we decided to take the train to Roppongi (the district we work in). We got some good pics along the way.

This is a picture of me on the overpass. Instead of having crosswalks at some intersections, you actually climb stairs and the go over the "crosswalks" above the street.



It's a phone booth!



so we took the subway to Roppongi:


we found hard rock cafe:


with king kong climbing up the side:


we also found a mcdonalds, a starbucks, a tgifridays and a bunch of other stuff. Oh, btw, Roppongi is probably the most americanized district in Tokyo, and also the most dangerous at night. People get drugged and stolen from in the bars all the time. But don't worry, I was there in the day time.

So we found this super cool store, kind of like a target, only it was 6 stories high and PACKED with all kinds of interesting stuff.


Most interesting part? obviously the condom section, which is funny because apparently there is a tourbook that talks about how americans shouldn't use Japanese condoms because the break too easily...


So anyways, this store has everything you can think of. The top floor even had name brand stuff. I even found a $180 pair of converse shoes: who knew?


But probably, the coolest thing that we did yesterday, was go to the Tokyo Tower. The Tokyo Tower is exactly like the Eiffel Tower only its red.


We got a ticket (820 yen) and went to the main observatory, which is in the middle, and you can see all over tokyo.







I have a bunch more pics of this too..so visit my facebook page.

We all decided to climb down the stairs (there were 600 of them) but we finally made it to the bottom, a little sweaty, a little sticky, a little sore, but incredibly accomlished


Roomie Pic: Amber and Megan


And so that was our first day in Japan. We got back to our hotel 7 hours later, with sweat everywhere (humidity is my friend) and feeling absolutely happy about the day. We proceeded to eat and watch the first half of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Needless to say I woke up today feeling quite sore, but was very happy to go through all my pictures and write a long blog to everyone out there who wants to read.

Tomorrow is the first day of camp, and it is ocean themed. My camp name is Ms. Snickers. My coworkers are Ms. Hershey, Mr. Goodbar, Mr. Whatchamacallit, Ms. Reeses and Ms. KitKat. Can anyone tell what our theme is? I am totally excited to start camp even if it is only 25 kids. The Japanese studnets are in school until July so we don't reach full capacity (60 kids) until about the fifth week. We are going on a field trip this week to Tokyo Disneyland Sea or something like that. Unfortunately for all of you, I cannot post pictures of my campers online without permission (it is a liability) but I will definitely tell you all about what happens this week otherwise.

I hope that you all are doing splendidly because I certainly am. Check facebook for the full picture album!

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Jenga, Decorating and Ramen oh MY

Jenga is a game that I continue to swear by because it brings people together. all you who work at the WUC with me know that I am a competetive Jenga player, and in Japan, this is no different. Yesterday, Camp Adventure played a super cool game of Jenga, and it definitely brought the troops together.

Here is Seth during our first game. Note how tall the tower is.

This is Shanada, who is also doing Day camp with me.

This is Lindsey and Brittney. They are doing Panther Cubs (which is 3-5 year olds)
To sum up on Jenga, I only lost once, which is quite an achievement considering how many times we played.

All we have been doing for the past couple of days is changing our space into camp. Here is what it looked like before: (sorry its kind of blurry. My camera is super sensitive apparently)


And this is what it all loooks like now!! There are different corners and areas. There is still a lot to do...










And check out this super cool Gingerbread Man I made myself (guess what game this is from):


In the hopes that you are not completely bored of my pictures, I am going to tell you more. Last night, we went out to dinner all together in Tokyo. Of course, you would assume we went to this fabulous Japanese restaurant and had a great time...well you would be wrong. It was Italian, and it WAS amazing!!!


And how cute is this?



Today, Megan and I decided to search for some other types of foods, and ended up in a Chinese restaurant that also had some Japanese food.

And I got the most delicious Ramen noodles and curried rice, and now my life is complete and I can go to bed happy tonight. We also walked around Tokyo, but I will post those pictures on my facebook for all to see.




For now...good night!

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

What will your choice be?

We had our Program Coordinator come and visit everyone on our site today and the one big piece of information that I got from her was: you can pick what you get to be that day. You can either be an Eeyore or a Tigger. An Eeyore is negative and sucks the energy out of the group, and the Tigger just adds and builds to everyone. I try so hard to be a Tigger, but I think that that is really hard sometimes. I guess this summer will be a challenge for me because I will have to step it up and be that camp counselor is a Tigger and not an Eeyore. I feel like being an Eeyore is a big fallback for me, or I use sarcasm so that I can put people at a distance and not be taken too seriously. Goal for this summer: drop the tude dude and just have fun doing my job and maybe be genuine for a change instead of afraid of failure. I might not be as peppy as Tigger, but I can be positive, and that's just as important i think.

So we are just setting up our campsite. I will give you before and after pictures later. I have to program two different weeks: Alice and Wonderland and an International Theme. If you all have any ideas for fun activities please let me know!

Hmmmmm what else to tell you...nothing really at the moment, just thought that I would check in. Probably just going to discover Tokyo this weekend, which will be an interesting experience. you wouldn't believe the architecture. we start camp on Monday: Underwater theme. Nothing but fun there. We also get to swim with the kids everyday which will be super fun I think.

Fun Fact about Tokyo #2: Everyone rides the subway, but no one talks, and under no circumstances are you to talk on your phone on the subway. That is out of the question. Man is Japan cool!

Sunday, June 13, 2010

konnichiha from Japan!

Alright everyone, I have finally made it. Left my house at 4AM on June 12th, and have arrived at hotel at 8:30PM on June 13th...whoo! BTW, I am 16 hours ahead of you, so while my day si ending, you are halfway through yours.
To begin with, I was not alone in my travels. Turns out there were a few of us Oregonians traveling to Japan on the same day. I traveled with a girl named Jenni:

A boy named Nick:

And another boy named seth who is actually in the hotel room right next to me here at the New Sanno Hotel.

So anyways, we got onto our 7AM commuter flight to Vancouver and then proceeded to sit in Vancouver to six hours. Let me tell you, Canada isn't that exciting after six hours. In fact, it is almost rather boring.

then we boarded another flight and 9 and a half hours later, we found ourselves in Tokyo. It was cool because each person had their own individual screen in front of them so they could watch anything that they wanted to, which came in rather handy for the nine hours.

So here is my hotel room:


and here is my roommate Megan:


She's pretty awesome and she even knows a little bit of Japanese.

So here is weird fact number 1 about Tokyo. In Oregon, you are a weirdo if you use an umbrella when its raining. In Tokyo, you are a weirdo if you DONT use an umbrella when its even misting outside. There are umbrellas at every convenience store, and they have special bags to put your umbrella in when you take them inside. I got one purely to fit in.

More later. So far, its just a HUGE city that is super full of culture and things that I can't read.