I begin this post with an ode to Sushi. Man is it good. The girls and I went out the other night and filled ourselves up with sushi. some had never tried it before but I was very proud of Anita and Shanada for giving it a good try.
now doesn't that look good? anyways, just thought i would share that sushi is better in Japan than in the U.S.
I have been having a good time going out with all the people that I work with. They are all nice, funny and adventurous people who have been a joy in this past week.
yesterday, Brittany, Lindsay, Megan and I decided to go on an adventure around Tokyo. We walked out of the hotel and went left. We have never gone left after leaving the hotel, only right, so already, we are way out of our comfort bubble of tokyo. Soon, we found a cemetery in the middle of the city. It is so strange here how you can be walkng along on a city block and all of a sudden find a park or a cemetery that somehow does not seem to fit in with its surroundings. Though most of you don't know this, I love cemeteries, and even more, I love cemeteries and churches from different cultures and countries. all in all...completely in heaven.
this is the big building in the middle of the cemetery
some of them had statues
The cups are for flowers and the holes are for incense
There were women cleaning some of the grave stones and sweeping off the pathways. Cremation is usually what is customary in Tokyo and so these gravestones are just remembrances and not so much burial stones.
and then you can climb up this hill and see the whole cemetery, and the lovely ladies i came with...
so anyways, I have a billion pictures of the cemetery, but I doubt any of you are as interested as I am so I will stop showing pictures and move on to the rest of our day. We walked through this little neighborhood suburb type place, and then we decided to take the train to Roppongi (the district we work in). We got some good pics along the way.
This is a picture of me on the overpass. Instead of having crosswalks at some intersections, you actually climb stairs and the go over the "crosswalks" above the street.
It's a phone booth!
so we took the subway to Roppongi:
we found hard rock cafe:
with king kong climbing up the side:
we also found a mcdonalds, a starbucks, a tgifridays and a bunch of other stuff. Oh, btw, Roppongi is probably the most americanized district in Tokyo, and also the most dangerous at night. People get drugged and stolen from in the bars all the time. But don't worry, I was there in the day time.
So we found this super cool store, kind of like a target, only it was 6 stories high and PACKED with all kinds of interesting stuff.
Most interesting part? obviously the condom section, which is funny because apparently there is a tourbook that talks about how americans shouldn't use Japanese condoms because the break too easily...
So anyways, this store has everything you can think of. The top floor even had name brand stuff. I even found a $180 pair of converse shoes: who knew?
But probably, the coolest thing that we did yesterday, was go to the Tokyo Tower. The Tokyo Tower is exactly like the Eiffel Tower only its red.
We got a ticket (820 yen) and went to the main observatory, which is in the middle, and you can see all over tokyo.
I have a bunch more pics of this too..so visit my facebook page.
We all decided to climb down the stairs (there were 600 of them) but we finally made it to the bottom, a little sweaty, a little sticky, a little sore, but incredibly accomlished
Roomie Pic: Amber and Megan
And so that was our first day in Japan. We got back to our hotel 7 hours later, with sweat everywhere (humidity is my friend) and feeling absolutely happy about the day. We proceeded to eat and watch the first half of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Needless to say I woke up today feeling quite sore, but was very happy to go through all my pictures and write a long blog to everyone out there who wants to read.
Tomorrow is the first day of camp, and it is ocean themed. My camp name is Ms. Snickers. My coworkers are Ms. Hershey, Mr. Goodbar, Mr. Whatchamacallit, Ms. Reeses and Ms. KitKat. Can anyone tell what our theme is? I am totally excited to start camp even if it is only 25 kids. The Japanese studnets are in school until July so we don't reach full capacity (60 kids) until about the fifth week. We are going on a field trip this week to Tokyo Disneyland Sea or something like that. Unfortunately for all of you, I cannot post pictures of my campers online without permission (it is a liability) but I will definitely tell you all about what happens this week otherwise.
I hope that you all are doing splendidly because I certainly am. Check facebook for the full picture album!
No comments:
Post a Comment